Name Dropper

How do you tell if someone is insecure, and perhaps coupled with a low self esteem?

I have a colleague, A, who has to name-drop under every circumstance. And in many instances, the name that was dropped would not raise any eyebrows at all.

A: I had a tummy-ache. Think I ate something wrong.
Me: What did you eat?
A: I went to a Japanese restaurant X, which was located at ABC Mall, and we ordered the most fantastic bento ever!

Now knowing A, she would call a coffee-shop a restaurant if they so much as take her order at the table and serve it to her.

Then I complimented a fellow colleague on a nice dress on another occasion.

A butted in and claimed that she has the same dress in another colour and that she got it from Fox at an exorbitant price.

Who cares if she has the same dress?! And nobody is asking where she got the dress from. And Fox, exorbitant? The apparel there are mostly under $50.

Moreover, Fox is not the type of brand I would want to be name dropping all over the place. Fox has the same stature as Cotton On, Giordano and Hang Ten as far as I am concerned – shops from which I buy cheap tees to sleep in. I have to quantify that I have nothing against Fox. It is a cool, nice, mass market brand.

You’ve got to admit name-dropping is an art. It is supposed to be a classy act where there isn’t any blatant, obvious, in-your-face names at every punctuation, and especially not non-upmarket names. For those who don’t know any better, I think the best thing to do is to just ZIP it.

About bitchyramblings

What I really wanted to say out loud, from one bitch to the next. View all posts by bitchyramblings

Leave a Reply

