Rain

Most people I know hate the rain. Or at least, the inconveniences a rainy day brings with it.

I don’t. I love and thrive on rainy days. My mood is lifted whenever I see an overcast sky and I dare say I am exuberant when the rain pours down – the heavier the better!

This weekend is one of those days. It was gloomy for most of Sat and Sun, this being the monsoon season and all, and boy oh boy, did it rain – cats and dogs too.

I had planned a picnic at the grounds of Botanical Gardens in the late afternoon of Saturday and when it started to pour at 4pm, my spirits were lifted even though it was raining heavily. Yes, it could disrupt my picnicking plans, but hey, I can always seek a sheltered area for that. Nothing could dampen my lifted mood!

We proceeded despite the rain and the downpour had become a drizzle when we reached the gardens.

We found a perfect sheltered spot near the lake, and laid out our mats and picnic basket.

My sister had prepared sandwiches and sausages and a bag of organic chips with a salsa dip. I brought a bottle of sweet wine and a flask of hot tea, which was perfect for the rainy weather.

By the time we settled down, even the drizzle had stopped and the sun was out again. Can’t say I wasn’t a tad disappointed. I was actually having fun!

The Sunday morning was a harsh, hot, sunny day, but I was hopeful when I saw the first dark cloud which rapidly grew bigger and darker. Before I knew it, it was pouring!

And poured it did! I made myself a cup of hot ginger tea, propped up some pillows behind me on the couch and laid down with a book, with the rain pelting heavily onto the ground outside. This is life!

About bitchyramblings

What I really wanted to say out loud, from one bitch to the next. View all posts by bitchyramblings

Leave a Reply

